Catch me if you can Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/ Thu, 18 Oct 2018 19:22:02 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sat, Aug 11, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-11-2018.html <p>I ran with Jackie on Wasatch Blvd.&nbsp; I got there early and ran 2 miles before Jackie got there.&nbsp; The air quality from the fires was really bad for the first 7 or 8 miles.&nbsp; It seemed a little better once we got up and over the big hill.&nbsp; I felt really strong on the hills.&nbsp; At about mile 15.5, I started getting a&nbsp;bad side stich on my right side.&nbsp; This has happened on several runs over the last few months.&nbsp; It forced me to stop and walk several times while running downhill.&nbsp; &nbsp;I refilled&nbsp;my 10 oz. water bottle 3&nbsp;times during the run.&nbsp;&nbsp;I&#39;m not sure if I was dehydrated or not.</p> <p>Average pace 9:20</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Sat, 11 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 10, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-10-2018.html <p>7 miles on my favorite run of the week.&nbsp; BSL Trail starting at the equestrian park.&nbsp; A lot of bikers out today.&nbsp; The air was pretty bad.&nbsp; &nbsp;Average pace 10:14</p> Fri, 10 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 09, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-09-2018.html <p>6 easy treadmill miles.&nbsp; Average pace 10:00</p> Thu, 09 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 08, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-08-2018.html <p>I started this run from work.&nbsp; I ran up the hill and started my tempo run heading south on 1000 w.&nbsp; It was very dark and there was construction on&nbsp;10400.&nbsp; The sidewalks were gone and I was running on the gravel road up to 1300.&nbsp; I miscalculated my miles and ended up stopping the tempo at 7 miles instead of the scheduled 8.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>10:08 and 10:20 (.5)</p> <p>8:08, 8:05, 8:01, 8:06, 8:12, 8:12, 8:18</p> <p>9:15</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Wed, 08 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 07, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-07-2018.html <p>Still on vacation.&nbsp; 3 easy afternoon miles to get some heat training in.</p> Tue, 07 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 27, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-27-2018.html <p>Easy miles from home.&nbsp; Average pace 9:04</p> Fri, 27 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 26, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-26-2018.html <p>I ran on the treadmill at work.&nbsp; I switched my running schedule around this week so I could run the Deseret News 1/2 on Tuesday.</p> <p>1.5 miles wu, 3x1600 w/ .5 recovery (7:18, 7:18 and 7:13), 1 mile cool down</p> <p>It was so hot in the gym.&nbsp; I got it done.</p> Thu, 26 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 25, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-25-2018.html <p>6 easy miles on the treadmill at work with a 1% incline.</p> <p>My legs felt pretty good considering I ran the 1/2 the day before.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Wed, 25 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 24, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-24-2018.html <p>Cheris picked Jackie and me&nbsp;up at my house at 3:50 am.&nbsp; We drove to Eccles Stadium and got on the buses.&nbsp; It was really warm in town.&nbsp; It was a little cooler up the canyon.&nbsp; The race started at 6:30.&nbsp; It was my first time on this course and I really liked it.&nbsp; I held back the first mile and tried to ease into my pace.&nbsp; I passed Jackie at about mile 3.&nbsp; I had a Gu a mile&nbsp;4 and another around 9 or 10.&nbsp; I carried my little bottle with Gatorade and sipped on that for the first 10 miles. It was a fun atmosphere running on the parade route.&nbsp; There were tons of 5k people walking side by side.&nbsp; That made it difficult to get around.&nbsp; I did a lot of dodging the last 1.5 miles.&nbsp; Overall it was a good race.&nbsp; I&nbsp;finished the race and headed straight to the porta potties.&nbsp; I&#39;m glad I didn&#39;t have to waste time during the race.&nbsp;&nbsp;My splits are 7:51, 7:37, 7:30, 7:32, 7:44, 7:33, 7:29, 7:48, 7:22, 8:04, 7:53, 7:42, 8:00 and 7:59 avg for .22.&nbsp; Overall average pace 7:42.&nbsp; I&#39;ve lost about 5-6 lbs in the last month.&nbsp; That&#39;s a lot for me.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Tue, 24 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 23, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-23-2018.html <p>Pre-race run.&nbsp; I probably ran a little faster than I should have, but it felt good.&nbsp; 9:29, 9:04, 8:41 and 8:48 for last .5.&nbsp; Average pace 9:03.</p> Mon, 23 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 22, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-22-2018.html <p>Eight miles on the BSL trail starting at the equestrian park.&nbsp; I looked forward to this run all week.&nbsp; It had rained the day before and it was a beautiful morning.&nbsp; I loved every minute of it.</p> <p>Average pace 10:51</p> Sun, 22 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 21, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-21-2018.html <p>I met Peggy and Michelle M. at Hobby Lobby.&nbsp; It was a really good run with a lot of hills.&nbsp; Average pace 8:54.</p> Sat, 21 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 20, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-20-2018.html <p>Easy miles from home. Average pace 10:38</p> Fri, 20 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 19, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-19-2018.html <p>I ran from work.&nbsp; Lots of hills.&nbsp; Average pace 9:41</p> Thu, 19 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 18, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-18-2018.html <p>It was a rough morning for me.&nbsp; This week just sucked.&nbsp; I got it done.&nbsp; Treadmill run at work.&nbsp;1 mi wu, 7 tempo miles at 8:19 with .5 incline, and 1 mile cd</p> Wed, 18 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 17, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-17-2018.html <p>Easy treadmill run at work.</p> Tue, 17 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 16, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-16-2018.html <p>I met Cheris and Peggy at SJ soccer fields.&nbsp; We warmed up for 2.5 miles.&nbsp; Then we did a ladder workout 400, 800, 1200, 1600, 1200, 800 and 400.&nbsp; We included the Rustic Roads hill in the repeats.&nbsp; 400 = 7:42, 800 = 7:22, 1200 = 7:55, 1600 = 7:51, 1200 = 7:35, 800 = 7:27, 400 = 7:24.&nbsp; I didn&#39;t always get the full 400 recovery between each one.&nbsp; Short CD after.</p> Mon, 16 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 15, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-15-2018.html <p>Fun run on the BSL trail strarting from the equestrian park.&nbsp; Average pace 12:09.</p> Sun, 15 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 14, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-14-2018.html <p>I met Cheris and Andy at the trail at O. Roi Hardy at 6:00.&nbsp; We ran 7 miles and then picked up Michelle and I ran another 4.&nbsp; I had some pretty bad side stitches that forced me to stop a few times.&nbsp; I&#39;m thinking maybe it&#39;s a dehydration issue.&nbsp; Average pace 9:00.</p> Sat, 14 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 13, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-13-2018.html <p>6 easy miles from home.&nbsp; The run felt pretty easy, but my&nbsp;HR stayed high.&nbsp; Average pace 9:50.</p> Fri, 13 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 12, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-12-2018.html <p>Ran with the BBKs.&nbsp; I got there early and warmed up for 2 miles.&nbsp; Then we ran the 5k loop twice.&nbsp; My glute/hip/hammie is still so tight and kind of hurts.&nbsp; I named the run - Just rip the bank-aid off run.&nbsp; I&#39;m ready.&nbsp; My miles were:&nbsp; 10:49, 9:18, 9:07, 8:31, 8:24, 8:31, 8:36, 8:32 and 9:11.&nbsp; Average 8:59</p> Thu, 12 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 11, 2018 http://Julie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-11-2018.html <p>Jogged very slowly on the treadmill for 1.5 miles, then did the elliptical for 60 minutes.</p> Wed, 11 Jul 2018 06:00:00